Camden Divorce Attorney
Aggressive Advocacy For You and Your Family
Ending a marriage is a big decision that has repercussions for the entire family. At the Law Office of Terry J. Leonard, our divorce attorneys in Camden can provide compassionate legal representation and help you navigate the process.
The process becomes even more complex and emotional if you have:
- A business
- High assets
Is Tennessee a No Fault Divorce State? Fault & No-Fault Grounds for Divorce
Tennessee allows divorce on fault or no-fault grounds, but it is not considered a true no-fault state. For a no-fault divorce in Tennessee, the grounds are either irreconcilable differences or no cohabitation for at least two years for couples who have no children. Our experienced divorce lawyers in Camden can advise you of your options and help you determine the best grounds for your divorce.
Divorce Related Issues We Handle
We help clients resolve a wide range of issues, such as:
- Marital property division
- Child support
- Child custody
The decisions you make during a divorce will impact you and your family for years. We advocate for our clients and provide sound legal advice for everything from simple divorces with no children or property to more complicated situations involving couples with children and many assets.
We are part of the local community and have a strong commitment to helping our neighbors navigate complex situations and move forward with their lives.
How Is Alimony Calculated in Tennessee?
The process of awarding spousal support is more subjective, and the judge will order an award if spouses cannot agree. Spousal support can either be rehabilitative or permanent. Our Camden divorce lawyers can help with this process. Rehabilitative support is awarded to give the lower-income spouse time to get the education or training they need to increase their earning potential.
The duration of alimony will be determined by a judge. Alimony can be awarded as monthly payments or as a one-time payout depending on the situation.
When awarding alimony, judges may consider:
- Each spouse’s income and earning capacity
- The length of the marriage
- The marital standard of living
- Each spouse’s education level
- Either spouse’s contributions as a homemaker or raising children
Tennessee Divorce Laws FAQ:
Q. How long do you have to be separated to get a divorce in Tennessee? One way in which you can file for divorce in Tennessee is by citing separation as grounds. In order to use separation as grounds for divorce, you must have been living in separate homes for at least 2 years and have no children.
Q. Who gets the house in a divorce in Tennessee? Tennessee divides marital property equally amongst both parties in a divorce. This means that if your house was purchased during your marriage, it is considered marital property and may be split.
There are two ways to do this- you may sell the house and split the proceeds evenly between both parties, or one party may be allowed to keep the house but forfeit other assets in order to keep the division even.
Q. How long does a divorce take in TN? A no-fault divorce can take about two to six months. If you had no children in the marriage, there is a mandatory 60-day "cooling-off" period after the complaint is filed. If you and your spouse have children, the “cooling off period” takes a minimum of 90 days.
A contested divorce, however, can last several years. The average contested divorce cases last one year or more. Additionally, if you and your spouse agree to divide a pension, it could take an additional 60 to 180 days after the court grants the divorce to complete this division.
Q. How long do you have to live in Tennessee before you can legally get divorced? You will have to live in Tennessee for at least six months before you can file for divorce. If you or your spouse are in the military and are currently stationed in Tennessee, but have a permanent residence in a different state, the court should allow you to file for divorce in Tennessee if you've been residing in the state for at least one year before you file.
How Do You File for Divorce in Tennessee?
In order to file for divorce in Tennessee, you must reside in the state for six months prior to filing. You can file in the county where you live or where your spouse resides. If you or your spouse have recently moved, you should consult with our Camden divorce attorneys to determine the best course of action for your situation.
Filing for divorce in Camden, Tennessee? Call (731) 224-2016 now or contact the Law Office of Terry J. Leonard online for the legal advice you need throughout this complex process.
Actively Involved in Our Local Community
Zealous Representation You Can Trust
Experienced & Knowledgeable Attorneys